To Wandile On His 27th Birthday

Hardly an original title. Nor is the movie associated with the title a very good one to base our love story on. But it was the best I could do. For now. Stop thinking your job is to be my muse, it isn’t. Your job is to love me and help me be the best person I can be.

Happy Birthday, my love. This day means so much to me because it marks the first of, no doubt, many that I will celebrate with you. Today, 27 years ago, if my counting is correct, you were born. And 27 years later, you continue to bring as much happiness, laughter and comfort to those around you as you did on the day you were born. Now I wasn’t there then, but I promise to be there from today until the day when you’re up in the stars, ruling the world.

On your birthday, I wish you joy, I wish you longevity, I wish you strength (you need that to deal with me and my bullshit), I wish you courage, success, health, wealth and above all, I wish you love. Infinite love. Like the kind you give me. The way you love me makes me want to believe that maybe, just maybe, there might be a God and that maybe, just maybe, He is a God of love. It is pure, it is unselfish, it is greater than any I’ve ever experienced.

On this day, my love, your day, I wish you infinite blessings and prosperity. It is an honour, a blessing and a pleasure to be your partner. You’re everything a boy could ever want (and then some!!) in a lifetime partner. Your commitment to family is admirable. Your faith is amazing. Your courage would put a thousand knights to shame and I die a little everytime you’re away from me. I live for you touch. I live for your kisses. I live for your presence. You have taught me how to love someone without loving myself any less. And that is the greatest gift I could’ve ever gotten.

I honour you today, I salute you. I’m glad to have you and I hope that I will continue to prove how grateful I am each and everyday of my life to and for you.

I love you.
Happy Birthday, Moon River.

Nyambose, donga dilika, shlahla somyezane esahlula abaweli,ncam ncam amasi amnandi, mathangana amahle afanele ukwenziwa, nina enalandela amasondo ezinyamazane, nina eniphuza amanzi emichachazweni. Dingiswayo

2 thoughts on “To Wandile On His 27th Birthday

  1. This is really a wonderful gift, a gift of words, written down in my heart forever. I’m honoured. Thank you my one!

  2. I hope its appropriate to comment, you are a writer and there’s no need to doubt it…these words are beautiful…these deeds by a person, a man are wonderful, admirable….these words you express are like a fountain of hope that you need to drink from and get eternally cured from doubt & self-boubt, disbelief, these words say there is hope in love, they say love prosper over all, I…wish you hope in love…I wish you tranquility in love….I wish you longevity in love…I wish you prosperity in love….together

Leave a comment